Friends of Die Oog Begins

In 1989 Brian Gripper, retiring Chairman of the Bergvliet Meadowridge Ratepayers Association, became concerned with the overgrown state of Die Oog. 

In 1992 he formed the “Die Oog Project Committee” under the auspices of the Ratepayers Association and started the renovation of the area.

In 1995 the architect Alwyn Lubbe joined the project. 

Die Oog Gets a New Gate & a Constitution

In 2002 Brian Gripper donated a self-closing dog-proof gate.

In 2003 Professor Dennis Davey was elected chairman and the name was changed to the “Friends of Die Oog” and a new constitution was drafted. The Critical Environmental Partnership Fund in the USA donated a substantial sum for the rehabilitation of Die Oog. A “Die Oog Partnership” was formed with representatives of the Department of Parks and Biodiversity Management of the City of Cape Town to help manage Die Oog.

Maintenance & Upgrading of Die Oog

In 2005 The Rowland and Leta Hill trust made the first of several grants for upgrading and maintenance of Die Oog and associated wetland. The Lions Club donated a bench and table. The Protea Sub Council R30 000 for pathways and repair of the dam wall and fences.

In 2006 Brian Gripper built and installed a new entrance sign and notice board.

In 2007 Alwyn Lubbe designed the wooden viewing platform overlooking the wetland.

In 2009 Brian Gripper resigned and both he and Alwyn Lubbe are now life members. The electric gate became faulty and Brian Gripper arranged a new cable supply. Patrick Williams donated a 12v supply to operate the gate magnet.

Recent Committee Changes

In 2010 Professor Dennis Davey resigned as chairman and Malcolm Pearce was elected.

In 2014 Malcolm Pearce resigned from the committee and Anne and Mark Shaw were appointed as Chair Persons. Professor Dennis Davey has been re-elected as treasurer.

In 2018 Anne and Mark Shaw have stepped down as Chair Persons and Brett Castel is now the Chairman.